Skip to content β†’

Triage

Manage issues created by other teams and customer support integrations.

Linear triage view

Triage is a special Inbox for your team. When an issue is created by integration or by a workspace member not belonging to your specific Linear team, it will appear here. Triage offers a chance to review, update, and prioritize issues before they are added to the team's workflow.

G then T to go to Inbox

1 to accept

2 to mark as duplicate

3 to decline

H to snooze

O then T to open a different team, then go to the Inbox with G then T

Go to your team settings to enable Triage. Once you toggle it on, Triage will appear under the team name in the sidebar.

Navigate to your Triage Inbox with G then T. If you are in another team's views, use O then T to open the team you want to view first.

New issues will default to Triage status if they are created through an integration (e.g. Slack, Sentry), created when inside of the Triage view, or if members outside of your specific team create the issue.

When members of your team create new issues, they'll be set to the default status as configured in team workflow settings. This can be overridden manually by changing the status (Triage shows up at the bottom of the dropdown list).

Open the issue to review it and take one of the following issue actions: accept with 1, mark as duplicate with 2, decline with 3, or snooze with H. You can add an issue to the current cycle by setting the cycle property. To ask for more information from the user who created the issue, comment on the issue and keep it in Triage or snooze it until you're ready to take an action.

Accepting an issue will offer the option to leave a comment and then move the issue to your team's default status.

Marking as duplicate will offer a choice of which existing issue to merge the duplicate into. Once selected, the new issue is updated to a Canceled status type.

Declining will updated the issue to a Canceled status type and present the option of adding a comment with an explanation.

Snooze will hide the issue from the triage queue to return at a time of your choosing, or when there's new activity on that issue: whichever comes first.

While we have measures in place to help reduce the number of duplicate issues filed, it's likely you'll encounter duplicates of existing issues filed to Triage. In these circumstances, use the mark as duplicate option to merge the duplicate issue into the canonical issue. Taking this action will also move the new issue's attachments to the canonical issue, including customer support tickets if you use one of our support integrations.

Consider setting notifications for new Triage issues so you can action them promptly from your personal Inbox. Configure this notification type under Account > Notifications > Teams > Manage Subscriptions.

You can snooze Triage items if you aren't ready to take an action. Press H and select an amount of time to snooze the issue. Snoozing in Triage hides the issue until the chosen duration expires or there's new activity on the issue: whichever occurs sooner. See snoozed Triage issues by toggling the preference in View Options. Read more about snooze here.

Get more out of Triage by connecting it to our integrations with Intercom, Front, or Zendesk. Your customer support team will be able to create new Linear issues and link to existing ones directly from their customer support tool. Closed issues re-open customer conversations automatically for easy follow up with customers who have reported bugs or requested features.