Issue relations

Create relationships between issues such as blocking, related, and duplicate.

Tag issues with relations and dependencies to help your team identify and remove blockers and work on the most important issues. You can mark issues as blocked, blocking, related, and duplicate.

M then B to mark blocked

M then X to mark blocking

M then R to mark as related

M then M to merge duplicate into another issue

Shift M to remove relations

Learn how to reference issues inline.

From the issue editor, add a relation using keyboard shortcuts or by selecting the more menu (three dots) after saving the issue. From a list or board, use either the keyboard shortcut, command menu or contextual menu. You'll be prompted to find and select the related issue. You can add as many related, blocking, blocked, or duplicate flags as you like but will have to repeat the steps for each one.

The issue and type of relationship will show up in the issue properties sidebar and as a flag icon on lists and boards. Click on the related issue to go to it or hover over it to see the assignee and status.

Mark issues as related with M then R. Related issues show up in the issue sidebar with a gray flag under Related. When you reference issues in a description or comment, they'll automatically become a related issue.

Mark issues as blocked by other issues with M then B. If other issues are blocking the current issue, they'll show up in the issue sidebar with an orange flag under Blocked by. Once the blocking issue has been resolved, the blocking issue flag turns green and moves under Related.

Mark issues as blocking other issues with M then B. If the issue is blocking other work, the blocked issues show up in the issue sidebar with a red flag under Blocks. Once the blocking issue has been resolved, the blocked issue flag turns green and moves under Related.

Merge duplicate issues into the canonical (saved) issue with the shortcut M then M. This will mark the issue you've selected or are viewing as a duplicate issue and change the status to canceled. You cannot mark issues the other way around (e.g. view the canonical issue and mark other issues as duplicates of it). If you have more than one canceled status, you can specify which status to apply under Team Settings > Workflow.

Note that the Duplicate action in the contextual menu is different from the Merge into another issue action under Relations. The Duplicate command will create a copy of the current issue. The Merge into another issue action marks the issue as a duplicate.

To remove a relations flag, hover over it and mark the X the keyboard shortcut Shift M or the contextual menu. If you have more than one relation, you'll be prompted to select which relation to remove.