Skip to content →
  1. Docs
  2. Workspace Owner
Sign upOpen app

Workspace Owner

The workspace owner role has full administrative access, while the Admin role becomes more restricted. Use the new Admin role to allow updating most routine settings without granting access to billing or security configurations.

Basics⁠

When switching to the Enterprise plan, all existing admins will automatically be switched to workspace owners. A new, limited admin role will be available for use. No changes will occur to Member or Guest roles.

Using the now limited admin role, workspace owners can allow a greater number of admins to handle routine tasks like managing public teams, without increasing the number of people with access to your workspace’s most sensitive settings.

Workspace owners can manage which roles have access to workspace-level actions through Settings > Administration > Security under the “Workspace restrictions” section.

Workspace restrictions

Permissions by role⁠

Legend:

✅ Available

❌ Unavailable

🟨 Available by default, but can be restricted in security settings

🟣 Admins can only manage team settings for public teams or private teams they are a member of

Action

Workspace Owner

Admin

Workspace configuration

Change workspace name, icon, enable/disable features at workspace level

✅

❌

Delete workspace

✅

❌

Restrict workspace creation

✅

❌

Security & compliance

Manage security settings

✅

❌

View audit log

✅

❌

Manage OAuth app approvals

✅

❌

User & access management

Invite users

✅

🟨

Promote or demote members to admin

✅

✅

Promote or demote admins to owners

✅

❌

Team management

Create and delete teams

✅

✅

Manage all public teams

✅

✅

Manage all private teams

✅

🟣

Manage Triage Rules

✅

🟣

Integrations and API

Enable and disconnect integrations

✅

✅

Manage API settings

✅

🟨

Create webhooks

✅

🟨

Create OAuth apps

✅

🟨

Workflows

Manage Labels

✅

🟨

Manage Project Statuses

✅

✅

Manage SLA settings

✅

✅

Manage AI settings

✅

✅

Manage Customer Requests

✅

✅

Data & billing

Billing

✅

❌

Workspace imports

✅

🟨

Workspace exports

✅

❌

Managing admin and owner roles with SCIM⁠

Migrating from admins to owners⁠

If your workspace has SCIM enabled and is currently managing permissions via linear-admins, your linear-admins group will automatically be updated to manage owners, not admins. This means that all users in linear-admins will become owners, however the name of the group will not change automatically.

If you now want to additionally start managing admins, you have two options:

Rename the admins group⁠

To rename the linear-admins group, you’ll first need to make sure your IdP supports syncing group name changes to connected apps. For example, in Okta, this can be configured using the “Rename app groups to match group name in Okta” setting.

If your IdP does not support this—or you’d prefer not to enable this setting—skip ahead to Re-link the admins group.

If syncing group name changes is supported, follow these steps:

  1. Rename the linear-admins group to linear-owners.
  2. Create a new linear-admins group in your IdP and push it to Linear.
  3. Move all desired admin users from the linear-owners group into the new linear-admins group.

Re-link the admins group⁠

If your IdP does not support syncing group name changes, you can re-link groups instead:

  1. Create a new group called linear-owners.
  2. Unlink the existing linear-admins group from Linear in your IdP.
  3. Move all desired owners from the old linear-admins group into the new linear-owners group.
  4. Push the new linear-admins and linear-owners groups to Linear.

Starting fresh⁠

If you’re starting fresh with SCIM, you’ll need to create a linear-owners group to manage owners, in addition to the groups described here.

FAQ⁠

If a user is in two groups, they will get the permission of the most recent group that was pushed.