View Options

View options let you group, order, sort, and choose what information shows up on your view.

Overview

View options show up on every single view in Linear. On issue views, they allow you to sort, order, and group issues in various ways, switch between board and list layout, and choose what information is displayed. On project and roadmap views, they control the layout between timeline and list views as well as which projects and milestones show up. View options can be saved as personal preferences or as the default view for your workspace.

View options must be opened and configured with the mouse

Cmd/Ctrl B to toggle between list and board on issue views

Configure

Open View Options Apply labels to any issue with the shortcut L. Go to team settings to create, edit, or delete labels and to view a list of all labels and how many issues are categorized under them.

Basics

Saving view options

To update your view only, customize the view and then navigate away from the options menu by clicking anywhere in the app. Your selections will persist even if you navigate away from the current view. A purple dot indicates that your personalized view has been applied.

To update your team's default view, press Save after customizing the view. This will apply the configuration to every single user in your workspace. Click Reset anytime to revert to your team's default view. You'll know you're in the default view if the purple dot isn't there.

Available view options

Every view in Linear is slightly different and will display different view options. The backlog doesn't have a board layout, for instance, since it's a singular status and we do not yet support grouping by other properties on boards. My Issues, Triage, and Inbox only let you update the display properties. We'll work to expand view options over time.

Issue view

Layout

If a board is available for your view, you'll see the option and can toggle between lists and boards. Cmd/Ctrl B will also toggle the layout.

Grouping

Grouping is allowed in most list views and lets you group issues by Status, Assignee, Project, Priority, or Cycle. No grouping removes all categorization and is especially useful when applying ordering and filters. Grouping settings will affect whether you can order issues manually.

Ordering

Ordering is allowed in most list views and lets you order issues within their groupings by Manual, Priority, Last created, Last updated, Due date, and Link count.

Manual ordering

Manual ordering is default for board views and can be selected in most list views. To move issues around, select them with your mouse and drag them to a new position. Manual ordering is unique in that it will update the manual order for everyone in the workspace.

Sub-issues

Toggle this setting on to show sub-issues in the list or off to only show parent issues and issues without sub-issues.

Show empty groups

When toggled, this setting will hide groupings without any issues.

Display properties

Choose what issue properties are displayed on individual issues on lists or the board. This is different from filters; filters will refine the list to only issues with certain properties while view options show all issues in the list but hide or show data on the issue item or board card.

Display properties include Issue ID, Priority, Status, Labels, Project, Cycle, Created, Updated, Assignee, Estimate, Links, Sentry issues, and Pull Requests.

Roadmap and project views

Layout

Switch between list view and timeline view.

Ordering

Order projects manually, by last updated, or by last created. To move projects to different milestones on the Roadmap or projects view, you'll need to set the ordering to manual to drag and drop or right-click over the project and change the milestone directly.

Zoom

Zoom the timeline view to focus on a month, quarter, or year. Use the mouse (two finger swipe on mac) to scroll backwards and forwards in time.

Completed projects

Under the active view tab, show projects that have completed in the last week, month, or year even if they've been closed. You can also select to show all projects no matter the status or no completed projects in the active view.

Empty milestones

Select None to hide milestones from the active tab that have no active projects. Select All to show all milestones. Select Upcoming to show milestones that have no active or closed projects in them. To hide past milestones from view, see these instructions.